War is a Drug

Just a short(er) post today highlighting the Oscars.  Sorry if this gets a little messy.  I’ve watched six of this year’s ten nominees for Best Picture, two of which in only this past week.  I saw Inglourious Basterds on Tuesday; it is a great movie, funny, action-packed, and suspenseful, with a great script, amazing acting by Christoph Waltz and directing by Quentin Tarantino. 8/10.  I saw The Hurt Locker just last night; it is the most intense movie I have seen, oftentimes very stunning in its cinematography, with a notable performance by Jeremy Renner and brilliant directing by Kathryn Bigelow.  9/10.  I was overall very pleased with the results of the Oscars, the only upsets being that Up in the Air was snubbed by Precious in the Best Supporting Actress and Best Adapted Screenplay categories.  I haven’t seen Precious yet, though, so I’m not sad that Precious won, I’m sad that Up in the Air didn’t.  The results for Best Supporting Actor and Best Actor were seemingly locked in before the show even started.  I’m very happy that Cristoph Waltz won Best Supporting Actor, and though I would’ve liked to see George Clooney take the Oscar for his work in Up in the Air, I wasn’t disappointed when Jeff Bridges got the award, despite having not yet seen Crazy Heart or any of his previous work.  I haven’t seen any of the movies in the Best Actress category, but I’m glad Sandra Bullock won for The Blind Side because she gave such a wonderful speech.  I liked Coraline, Up, and The Fantastic Mr. Fox equally as much, so I would’ve been happy if any of them won Best Animated Feature.  In addition to winning in that category, Up was also recognized for Best Score, which I thought was great.   I really wanted Up in the Air to win Best Director and Best Picture, that is, until I saw the Hurt Locker, and though seeing Up in the Air win would’ve been nice, I am so glad that The Hurt Locker won in both categories.  The Hurt Locker and Avatar each received nine nominations, and The Hurt Locker won six, while Avatar won only three.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate Avatar, in fact, I’d give it a 6/10 for its cinematic achievements, I just hate the hype that surrounds the film because I feel it is undeserving of it.  Best dressed: Anna Kendrick, Sandra Bullock, Kate Winslet, Maggie Gyllenhaal, and Rachel McAdams.  I loved seeing Neil Patrick Harris singing in the opening, even if he did sum it up quite nicely with his “what am I doing here?”  Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin were very entertaining hosts, especially with their opening speech and their Paranormal Activity spoof.  Ben Stiller is making a tradition out of presenting in outrageous costumes, last year as actor-turned-rapper Joaquin Phoenix, and this year as a blue man from Avatar.  In other news, The Sims 2 has taken over my life, and my work in both Photography and Creative Writing classes have been piling up, so I’ll be posting those soon.

Leave a Reply

