By the Sea

When we were here at the beach
And you were still in my reach
I walked alongside of you
Then you left out of the blue

When I heard what had happened
I was sad it had to end
It couldn’t be prevented
And hurt more than expected

I’m glad you found someone new
And I hope he loves you too
But I still wanted you with me
Well, as long as you’re happy

I still remember the day
When you had to go away
Before I had a chance to
Tell you how much I love you

I regret not telling you
Because now I’ll never know
If you ever loved me too
But that was so long ago

Now I’ve finally moved on
Letting go of dreams foregone
But if you ever need me
I’ll be waiting by the sea

Leave a Reply

