Midnight Drive

Full moon shines bright tonight.
What a great time for a drive!
Grab the keys, get in the car.
Its time I went somewhere far.
Get away from this dreaded place,
As the tears flow down my face.
Hands on the wheel, eyes on the road,
Sharing confessions with this dashboard.

Replay the scene inside my head,
Remembering the words she said.
“Our relationship has come to an end,
I don’t ever want to see you again.”
Her words cut deeply into my skin.
What did I ever do to deserve this?
Hands on the wheel, eyes on the road,
As feelings of hope and confidence erode

I never wanted our relationship to end,
But then she was always playing pretend.
I was a fool to fall for her little disguise,
And I believed every one of her lies.
I should have never fallen in love with her.
Memories of mistakes made start to spur.
Hands on the wheel, eyes on the road,
As all sense of sanity begins to erode.

She was my one and only hope that was left,
But falling for her was my one and only regret.
Forget about having that special someone.
I’m always getting hurt, I’m done with love.
It’s over, and I have no more reason to live.
My heart’s torn, I can’t take any more of this.
Hands on the wheel, eyes on the road,
But it’s become harder to see than before.

Details of the streets start to concur,
As the tears cause my vision to blur.
When I can’t see anything anymore,
Something crashes hard into my door.
I suddenly get thrust to the right side,
And I see the red light within my sight.
Hands off the wheel, eyes off the road,
As my blood pours down the dashboard.

Leave a Reply

