The Song (Walk Away)

The stage is set, the stage is set
The audience is full of excitement
With his acoustic guitar in hand,
He walks up slowly to the microphone
In front of the crowd, he takes a stand
This will be one heck of a show

The lights up above darken and dim
And he knows that now it’s only him
There is a sense of anticipation
For what he is about to play and sing
Even though it will be just one
His song will definitely be something

He starts
His guitar makes such a beautiful sound
Each and every chord played to perfection
And with his high pitched emotional voice
He sings:

“If I could I would
I would turn back time
To the time when you were with me
If only time would stop
Like a broken clock
I could stay by you forever
But it’s just about time
For me to face the fact that
It could never be this way”

Everyone sings along
For they all know this song by heart
The smiles are gone from their faces
Cause this song is anything but happiness

He’s strumming a bit harder now
Still getting the same beautiful sound
With the first verse suddenly gone
He knows its time for him to move along
And he sings:

“And I know I’ll never be together with you
And I know I’m living alone like this forever
It’s more than I can take”

The chorus was short
But it served its purpose
Some are at the brink of tears
But he’s only getting started

He’s strumming softer now
Still getting that same beautiful sound
He’ll come back to the chorus later
But for now, he goes on
He sings:

“If I could I would
I would make you mine
Stay with you till the end of time
But it’s just about time
For me to face the fact that
It could never be this way”

By now they’ve stopped singing along
Because it just breaks their hearts
Their smiles are now long gone
As they wait for the rest of the song

He’s strumming a bit harder now
Still getting the same beautiful sound
With the second verse now also gone
He knows its time for him to move along
He sings:

“And I know I’ll never be together with you
And I’m living alone like this forever
It’s more than I can take”

At this point there are tears on his face
The crowd grows silent
Because they know what’s next
But he seems to hesitate before he sings the rest

He’s strumming a lot harder now
The pace is much quicker now
This is the last part of his song
What they’ve been waiting for all along
And he sings:

“Please just for once would you stay and listen?
If I hold this any longer I could die any minute
So will you give me a minute? Just give me a minute
I’m letting you know that I’m giving up now
And there’s nothing left for me to do now
So I’ll ask “How’s your life without me?
Are you doing alright?” Because I’m not alright, I’m not alright
And I will stand back and watch you walk away
And I will wait for you to come back; will you come back to me?
Because there’s no more trying, there’s no more trying
This won’t feel right, this doesn’t feel right tonight
I will never be okay; this is more than I can take
I will never be okay; this is more than I can take
Just walk away”

He finishes the song in a blast of emotion
Everyone is crying when he is done
Before he finally leaves the stage
There’s just one more thing he has left to say:

“This is for _____
Whom I will love forever
And though we may never be friends again
And we may never be together
I just want you to know that
If ever you need me
I will always be there for you
No matter what happens”

Leave a Reply

