Black Roses

Black roses flood the epitaph
And I stand where your body now lies
Mourning over your passing by

Though I know you’re not coming back
I wish that these tears could give you life
I wish I got the chance to say goodbye

You led me through the toughest times
And you helped me win the biggest fight
The skies are darker now at night
And I’m lost without your guiding light

I’m grateful for all that you did
And wanted to repay you someday
But at this moment it’s too late

You were there since I was a kid
And I’ve always wanted you to stay
But heaven didn’t seem to want to wait

These words may be a bit delayed
But I want to thank you for the days
You made this world a safer place
And I hope you lived your life away

The void you left can not be filled
I feel this world is empty still
But all that begins has to end
I hope you rest in peace, my friend

Leave a Reply

