Covert Plans

I don’t want you to be just another pretty face
I want you to mean so much more to me than that
But you never gave me a chance to get to know you
I always feel like an outsider where you stand

I saw you in class and you seem kind of nice
You smile often but you seem rather shy
I can’t hear you when you talk with friends around
But I feel like the words you say are profound

I don’t understand why you don’t open up to me
Why can’t you see that I want us to be just friends?
I’m not hiding any covert plans up my sleeves but
You treat me like I’m some kind of potential threat

I came across your site and thought I’d say hi
Messaged you a couple times but you don’t reply
I thought I’d try talking to you in person
But I’m too shy to start a conversation

I don’t want you to be just another pretty face
I want you to mean so much more to me than that
But you never gave me a chance to get to know you
I always feel like the outsider where you stand

I feel like I might be too shallow sometimes
But should I confess my love for you and lie?
How deeply should I dig for you to notice
That I just don’t feel that strongly about this?

Leave a Reply

