Eraser

You used to draw my picture
In the margins of your notes
You drew me with such detail
From my head down to my toes

And yet I always took up
So little of your paper
I was never the focus
I’ll be this small forever

I wished that I could reach you
In the deepest of your heart
But I could never alter
The essence of your art

Feeling so unimportant
I shall make my final wish
To disappear from your life
I want to cease to exist

Erase me from these pages
As if you’ve made a mistake
Make sure you don’t leave a smear
Like the ones you used to hate

Tear me up into pieces
With little scraps of rubber
Brush me off the edges
To vacuum me up later

And I’ll do the same to you

Leave a Reply

