Helpless

I sit on a chair in the darkness,
Cold and alone, waiting for you.
The light you turn on blinds me
As it shines directly in my face,
And when my eyes finally adjust,
I cower in fear at the sight of
The blade you hold in your hand.
I try to protest, but can’t speak
Through the tape over my mouth.
You bring the blade closer to me.
I try to move away, but in vain
As these ropes render me helpless.
I recoil at the sound of ripping
As you strip me piece by piece,
Revealing the bruises and scars
I kept from you for all this time.
My heart breaks to see your eyes
So full of bitter disappointment
When you realize that I am not
The person you fell in love with.

Leave a Reply

