Outside My Head

I’ve been trying so hard for years
To get this word outside my head
But it’s been coming back again
To stab me right inside my chest

I write in places that can’t be read
I look for words that won’t be said
I speak out without being heard
I listen but I cannot hear a word

These patterns are all too familiar
This cycle I know I’ve seen before
I try to break free from all of it
But this rope won’t come undone

I ask for help but no one listens
I wait for help but no one comes
I reach out with hands untouched
Grasping a shadow of what was

Leave a Reply

