Powerless

Tonight I had a friend in need
But I couldn’t help her
I wish she would talk about it
Make this hard time easier

No matter what I tried to say
She wouldn’t talk to me
She’s keeping her pain to herself
I’m reaching out desperately

I feel like I’m so powerless
I don’t know what to do
I can’t get her to open up
So here I’m asking you

Please listen to these sincere words
That I’m about to say
Please give her the strength that she needs
To get her through the day

I want to see her smiling with
The shine back in her eyes
I need to know she means it when
She tells me she’ll be fine

I hope for this with all my heart
That she’ll begin to heal
And only when she starts to smile
Will I begin to feel

Forgive me, for I’m doubting you
And handing you this test
I still need you to prove to me
That you really exist

Lately I’ve been searching for hope
I feel I’m losing touch
I need to feel you around me
So I don’t become numb

I’m still waiting to see her smile
But maybe I’m the one
That needs to be healed by your touch
For me to be someone

I feel like I’m so powerless
I don’t know what to do
I can’t feel your anything now
So here I’m asking you

Leave a Reply

