Shoes

Your illusion of me is far too high 
For me to reach it, to become it
I do all I can to walk up the stairs
But you are always higher still

Every time I feel like I’m closer
Someone always yanks the string
I know you only want the best in me
But the shoes you gave are too big

My reflection always disappoints me
And your pictures of me are but a lie
The will to fix every imperfection
Became too difficult for me to find

I’ve lost the strength to keep walking
Yet you’re still pushing me ahead
Whispering pretty words in my ear
Making sure my heart’s beating red

For you, I’ve decided to never give up
Even when the night is its darkest
Because I know I will someday reach
The light at the end of the tunnel

Leave a Reply

