Sorry, can you stop for a second? I need to get out.

Movie: Never Let Me Go (2010)
Directed by Mark Romanek.  Written by Alex Garland.  Based on the novel by Kazuo Ishiguro.  Starring Carey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield, and Keira Knightley.
Summary: The film follows the lives of Kathy, Tommy, and Ruth, three childhood friends whose lives are tragically affected by the unusual way in which they have been brought up.
Review: I had a basic idea of what the movie was about beforehand.  I knew only a couple of details more than what I just told you.  In retrospect, I think it would be best to go into this one without really knowing anything at all.  I already feel like I’ve given away too much by putting the word “tragic” in there.  The trailer doesn’t really give away anything about the story itself, and it isn’t a very good representation of the feel of the film as a whole.  This all should work to the film’s advantage, so that as every part of the theme of the film is introduced, it’s just that much more hard hitting because you didn’t really see it coming.  What I can say is that the film depicts a world that isn’t entirely like our own, and the conflicts that the characters go through is brought upon them by what makes their world different from ours.  The more the film reveals about its world, from the film’s beginning to its end, the more you feel for the characters in their situations.
It’s rather hard to find any flaws in a movie that I was so thoroughly immersed in.  I don’t think I’ve seen any film so beautifully shot in this style since Paper Man.  The film has a lot of very pleasing shots of the outdoors, and even the sets of the interiors look great.  The score is as beautiful as the movie itself, simultaneously calm and heart-wrenching.  The story is, of course, outstanding, but the less you know about it going in the better.  I think the main strength of the film is its acting.  All three leads played their roles so wonderfully well, it’s hard to choose one standout performance.
I was very surprised by how much I liked this film.  It’s easily by second-most favorite film of the year so far.  Give this one a chance.  I doubt you’ll regret it.
9.25/10.

Movie: Going the Distance (2010)
Directed by Nanette Burstein.  Written by Geoff LaTulippe.  Starring Drew Barrymore and Justin Long.
Summary: Erin and Garrett try to make their long-distance relationship work as they fly back and forth between New York and San Francisco.
Review: This will be brief.  I don’t really have much to say about this film.  It’s just a fun little romantic comedy with charming performances by the two leads as well as a few of the supporting roles.  It can be really funny, but when it’s time to get serious, it’s also pretty hard hitting.  Again, I’m surprised by how much I liked this, I really wasn’t expecting anything good.  With this following Whip It, I’d say Drew Barrymore is now becoming someone to look out for.
7.8/10.

Leave a Reply

