A Fleeting Moment’s Tryst & maximum capacity 24


                            the sign above the door
     You locked yourself up the number of names on my roster
     in a castle with walls and occupied desks before me 
     far too high to climb,
    of bricks far too thick heres me before them
                            the teacher teaches
   for me to break through, the student learns
    despite how hard I try. 
   But that day, you opened he gives me a grin and a wink 
   the door to see what was a hint of homework i gave one night
                            24 pairs of eyes on me
   outside, and I took this
     chance to finally show each pen is leaking away
  you all the possibilities i’m only on their pages
that could be in this life. but they’re in my books 

  And yet you withdrew into you look through the glass
 your mortar tortoise shell searching for an empty seat
  and left me on the porch. hoping to learn from me
   I didn’t understand why.
                            it can go either way 
   You said you didn’t want the student can teach 
   your sickness to spread, the teacher to learn 
    but I didn’t mind that.
   I wanted to be with you. i want you here to teach 
                            but ive run out of space 
   Still you said goodnight and can let no more inside of me 
   and you closed the door.
   As I turned to walk away you turn with eyes like anchors
 I thought I heard you cry. and i call out your name 
                            but my door has closed

Leave a Reply

