Mountain and Cliffside

[Because of the width of this poem, it had to be in a smaller font size to fit. Press Ctrl-+ to zoom in.]

                              I will be able to reach you.  I took a fork and fed you
                            wax makeshift wings, I know       a double helping of my
                                                                eyeballs
                          With the confidence in these      so that all I’d see was your insides,
                        sky, your smile a brilliant light.  but there’s no light in there to see.
                                                            
                      sun.  My arms out towards the               I made you a necklace
                    way of waving “hello” to the                    carved out of a piece of my
                                                                      heart,
                  mountain are the earth’s own              so that I would always be with you,
                tree on the top of the highest              but you forget to wear it all the time.
                                                            
              leaves on the tip of the tallest                          I wish I could open you up
            take me in.”  The swaying                                     and take a piece of your
                                                                            lungs,
          before you will eventually                        staple it to this growing void in my chest
        from you as I possibly can                          because I can’t breathe here on my own.
                                                            
      to say: “I’ll get as far away                         It feels so high up here; I’m                
    farther from the earth as if                                              f
              g                                                                 a
            n                                                                     l
          i                                                                         l
        s                                                                             i
      i                                                                                 n
    r                                                                                     g
  and longer, his head is always                            for you, but I know when I hit solid ground
The giraffe’s neck grows longer                             you won’t be there to pick up all these pieces.

Leave a Reply

