So this is the new year

♪…and I don’t feel any different.♪

To start off the new year, I decided to revive my old blog, as well as start a couple of new ones, which you will find by clicking the link to my main site at the bottom of this page, to keep myself busy in this awkward ~6-month phase between getting my B.A. in the previous Fall and beginning to work towards my M.A. this coming Fall.

I haven’t written a normal blog post in so long, I almost feel like I’ve forgotten how to do it.  Which is worrisome given how long and complicated these year-in-review posts tend to be.  I’ll try to keep it as short and simple as possible, but I can tell you right now short isn’t going to happen.

2012 was, for the most part, a good year.  The first half of it is a bit of a blur, but I do remember having an amazing time with my Asian American Studies friends, a lot of whom had graduated that spring.  I only had one AAS class last semester, so I wasn’t as involved with that community as I’d hoped.

Fall 2012 felt like by far my busiest semester as a student.  It wasn’t because of the amount of classes I was taking, because at that point I was very much used to taking 18 units.  I didn’t have a job, so that wasn’t an issue.  I was in three clubs.  I was the historian for Vietnamese Student Association and I was a member of the creative writing club and the Anime club.  Almost every week, I went to 2-3 events, taking pictures at all of them.  I was away from home 10am-10pm sometimes four days a week.

Looking back, I feel like the semester moved so fast.  I was so busy looking forward to the next event and the one after that, I forgot to live in the moment.  I enjoyed being so busy, making so many new and amazing friends, but I wish things would’ve slowed down just a little.  It’s sad, I wanted to stay a student for as long as possible, but here I am already graduated.   Enjoy being a student while you can!  and then poof, it’s gone.

But you know, I really am glad it’s over.  School took a lot out of me, so it’s nice to have some time to breathe before going back in.  And look, I have a college degree now!  All of my hard work these past three-and-a-half years means something.  For once in my life, instead of hating myself, I actually feel accomplished.

This extended break has been good so far.  Christmas with the fambam on the 24th was fun as usual.  We had my graduation party on the 25th, and I kind of slept through most of it.  I guess I was too tired from the Christmas party, though it’s probably mostly my fault for starting Tron: Legacy at 11pm and then waking up at 7 in the morning.  I spent New Year’s Eve last night watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood alone in my bedroom and I don’t regret it one bit.  I was never one for going all out for New Year’s, even now that I’m of legal drinking age.

I reapplied to CSUN to get my M.A. in Creative Writing.  I’m pretty sure I’ll get in, I’m not too worried about it.  In the meantime, though, aside from all the shows I’m watching and games I’m playing now that I finally have free time (a little too much of it), I’ve been looking for my first job.  I’m probably going to tutor, or maybe do something else related to English.

I honestly don’t know what this year will bring.  Who ever does?  I hope I’ll be able to keep in touch with my friends who are still in school, but I’ve never been very good at that, as my friends from high school will have you know.  I also hope I spend these next few months actually doing something a bit more productive than spending hours and hours on Netflix and catching up on the Final Fantasy series.

My New Year’s resolution?  I didn’t make one because I know I’d only end up disappointing myself.  I have goals, of course, but a resolution is just something I’m bound to break.  I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of people felt the same way.

Leave a Reply

